25 Days of Christmas: Day 1

1 Dec

Since I have spent the last few months buried in textbooks, I haven’t been able to keep the blog updated–I feel bad about this. So, how can I make it up? Well given it is that time of year again, what better way to celebrate then by giving ya’ll the gift of music. In light of that, I decided to post at least one song each day until Christmas. I hope you all enjoy.

On the first day of Hanukkah, DirectProof gave to me….

“Ruins” -Roguewaves

This is one of my favorite songs of the past year and you’ll quickly find out why…

It was about this time last year when I first discovered this song, lucky me. It came on my ipod yesterday while driving and I felt it necessary to share it with everyone. The electro group, Roguewaves, who is currently on hiatus, is out of the Allston area of Boston and is made up of Justincredible–who is now part of the Kestrels–and Zak Broman–who is currently DJing in China.

About the track: It features an ever-so-catchy vocal harmony from Keely Bumford over complimentary synth that creates a mesmerizing electro-rhythm; it’s this crisp combination, which makes the track so versatile. The beat isn’t heavy enough to warrant it ‘banger’ status, but it’s definitely something you could hear in a club. Enough though, words can’t do this song justice. Check it out.

WARNING: This will get stuck in your head…. and for that you’re welcome.

Ruins” by Roguewaves

EDIT*: I was pleased to receive a Facebook message earlier today from Roguewaves’ Zak Broman and thought I would pass along the exciting news that he shared with me…. They will be doing a reunion show later this month in Boston, so if you’re near you should definitely check it out.

One Response to “25 Days of Christmas: Day 1”

  1. Mo Money December 1, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Bumpin track, keep em coming.

Leave a comment